Civil litigation in Canada

Each province and territory has a trial-level court, often called a superior court, and an appellate-level court. Most civil litigation in Canada begins in a superior court, although each province typically has a civil claims division of a provincial court with jurisdiction for lower-value claims (CA$50,000 or less). Appeals from superior courts are taken to the court of appeal of that province.

Canada also has specialized courts that are federal, rather than provincial, in scope. The Federal Court of Canada is a court of limited jurisdiction dealing primarily with intellectual property, immigration, maritime law and judicial review of the decisions and actions of federal boards, commissions and other tribunals. The Tax Court of Canada hears disputes concerning federal taxes. The Federal Court of Appeal hears appeals from both the Federal Court of Canada and the Tax Court of Canada, as well as appeals from certain specified federal tribunals, such as the National Energy Board.

The Supreme Court of Canada is Canada’s final court of appeal. It hears appeals from the appellate courts of all provinces and territories, and the Federal Court of Appeal. Ordinarily, a party wishing to appeal to the Supreme Court of Canada must apply for “leave” or permission to appeal, except in certain criminal cases. Leave to appeal requires establishing that the appeal involves a matter of national importance or of a constitutional nature.

More in this section:

  • Jurisdiction of courts
  • Key considerations in civil litigation
  • Acquiring evidence from Canada
  • Enforcement of foreign judgments
  • Enforcement of foreign arbitral awards
  • Class proceedings
Complete guide
Interested in the 2019 edition of Doing Business in Canada?

In this guide: